My 2016

Things got off to a shaky start when my back went big style at the start of January ski touring. This was first outing for my new bling (thanks to a tax rebate!) at Glenshee; unfortunately followed by a few months of intensive physio 

Most of January and February was spent in cafes and keeping myself busy making macrame plant hangers but I did manage a couple of gentle walks at the end of the month. This is from Loch Gamhna, Cairngorms and love the light catching the branches and ice 

In March my beautiful nephew Harry Patrick Souter arrived. This is him just a couple of hours old. A biased auntie but what a cutie! 

By April I was ready to try an adventure and set off to explore Eigg. This is the view to Rum from my wildcamp at Tràigh a’ Bhìgeil

In May, explored Colonsay by bike and paddleboard. My favourite Scottish island so far and so good, went back the next weekend. This is where we wild camped the first night (Kiloran Bay)

Colonsay just squeezed into the start of June and deserves another photo. This one is actually from Oronsay – packrafted over and had the whole island to myself apart from these guys 

By July things were getting back to normal and had an amazing trip cycle touring from Munich to Venice. This photo was just after a big tunnel in Austria when the cloud lifted and we got the first glimpse of our surroundings 

It wouldn’t be fair not to include a photo from Slovenia too as it is stunning and one of my new favourite countries. This is the Soca River where we managed to do a paddleboarding trip.

In August we had a family weekend up at Badaguish. A trip up Sgorr Goaith and rewarded with my first ever view of Glen Einich (3rd time lucky). 

September saw the arrival of my new bike who was christened Alma Libre on our biking holiday in the Spanish Pyrenees. What a blast! 

With the Autumn colours it’s always difficult to pick out a photo but I love this one of my folks on their new bikes. Never too old to take up cycling! On our way from Aviemore to An Lochan Uaine, Cairngorms. 

In November, had my best ever winter hill day. After aborting our original plan as the road was blocked, we had a stunning day on Ben Vorlich. Had high hopes for the season at this point…..

There’s been loads of mountain biking (and cafe) action in Innerleithen this December but managed to fit in an after work bothy adventure to escape to the hills, and be back for Christmas drinks on the Saturday 

The big 40 happens in 2017 so here’s to  an injury free year with lots of adventure and fun times with family and friends, and the safe arrival of a new niece or nephew. 

First up…….Strathpuffer! 

Leave a Reply

